12
Dec
08

Counting Your Blessings

Been a busy day of hunkering down after a massive Northeastern U.S. ice storm, taking care of Little Girl Blue who’s home because the storm closed down the daycare, and dealing with a goose-egg-sized swelling right under my kneecap, which freaked me the hell out.

So, as you might imagine, it hasn’t been the most productive day. I will simply say this:

When you are blessed, as we have been during this storm (still have power and no tree limbs came crashing down), count and appreciate those blessings. And remember all the tiny ones throughout our lives that keep us safe.

I’ll post something else tonight if I can. Otherwise, see you sometime this weekend.

Peace.

4 Responses to “Counting Your Blessings”


  1. 1 WNG
    December 12, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Glad you made it through the storm! We had buckets of rain here (literally…there’s a leak in my roof)but i too, am counting my blessings. Thanksgiving came late for me this year, but I am feeling it now!

    Oh and pleas update us on the kneecap thing because you’re freaking me out too…

  2. 2 Deacon Blue
    December 13, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Well, my knee swelling started going down shortly after I downed some Excedrin for the NSAID effect. This after some quick initial research made me wonder if it was gout, and one of the suggestions there was to take Motrin or some other NSAID (aspirin, acetominophen, etc.).

    My wife’s research was better though, and looking at descriptions and photos, we’ve come to the conclusion it’s most likely pre-patellar bursitis or infrapatellar bursa. The latter, if I recall, also has the nickname “clergyman’s knee.” How apporpriate for me, eh? (Although most of my kneeling has to do with playing with Little Girl Blue or bathing her or otherwise having to go down to her level).

    In any case, these two also called for taking an NSAID and maybe using cold compresses, and now that my knee is almost back to normal after two rounds of pill popping and now is only slightly swollen and a little tender, with a small bruise, I’m relatively confident that I won’t have to have anything lanced or hacked off.

    But I have to say that while I didn’t flinch once while watching my wife give birth nor have the slightest amount of faint feelings…and while I can dispassionately look at nasty wounds…and while I once watched a video of a man committing suicide with a gun and didn’t get sick (all the same, that was some nasty stuff, that), I got all woozy at the thought of a weird swelling on my leg. Go figure.

    I’m the same way when I watch someone stick a needle in my arm or when I give blood. Selective wimpiness. šŸ˜‰

  3. 3 WNG
    December 13, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    It’s personal wimpiness…or self preservation sounds better huh? well i’m glad it’s not limb or life threatening Deac. still – keep an eye on it, ok? i’m a champion worrier šŸ™‚

  4. 4 Deacon Blue
    December 13, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    The self-preservation part I don’t consider wimpy. The getting woozy and lightheaded at the thought and sight of a huge swelling struck me as one of my less valorous moments. šŸ˜›


Comments are currently closed.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Deac Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 836 other followers

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

