21
Feb
09

Cleansed By Fire: Adventures in Non-Linear Time

future-dunesHad meant to keep up my momentum on the novel with a couple of new installments each week, but I see it’s been a full week already since my last one. Oh, well. Life intrudes.

Of course, the novel itself is intruding, too, ironically. I don’t know how most people write novels, but as I’ve mentioned before, a lot of this is being done as I go. That is, I have no outline, and only a few set-in-stone events and outcomes to anchor me as I go. One side effect of this is that at times, I am struck by an irresistible need to write scenes that are for future installments rather than the next one in line. As inspiration hits me, I feel like I need to go with the flow and not lose a good rhythm, rather than force myself to write the next installment. Further confusing the non-linear progression of the writing of my novel is that fact that I’ve started to go back and do some re-writes of the earliest chapters now. So, at any given time, I’m living in the present, future and past of my novel, and it’s starting to confuse me. 😉

As I pull together the next installment of the novel in the next day or two, be comforted (if you’re a fan) in the fact that I’ve updated the portal area for the novel with two new informational items:  How the Vatican and the Terran Catholic Church operate and A glossary of occupations, social roles, titles and other people-related terms  in the novel.

2 Responses to “Cleansed By Fire: Adventures in Non-Linear Time”


  1. February 21, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    D.B. How is posting a novel online working for you? Are you getting many readers? Any notice?

  2. 2 Deacon Blue
    February 21, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    It’s hard to know how many readers I have. I can’t trust the stats for the individual installments, because some of my readers catch the installments by reading them on the main blog page instead of going directly to the individual blog post. Honestly, I figure I have between 10 and 15 actual loyal readers. Which considering my traffic around here, which has usually been around 50-60 “real” readers a day (as opposed to people who get here accidentally via image searches), isn’t bad.

    I never really expected to get any notice from the publishing world or anyone with critical literary credentials or anything like that. It started more as an exercise in finally getting off my ass, more than 20 years post-high-school, and write a novel like everyone among my family and friends always expected I would. Doing it this way took some pressure off me, as it made sense to release the novel a scene or two (or three) at a time this way. Not so scary that way.

    When all is said and done, I will try to see if anyone will publish it. I’m not too worried that it will have been online already, since my readership is small and this is, truly, a first draft and I expect the final version to have some substantial differences. I figure my chances are just as bad this way getting published as with any other first time author. 😉


Comments are currently closed.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Deac Tweets

  • The week has been a bit rough in (many) spots, but I did just score three pairs of shoes for daughter for $45 total, so there's that 😛 6 hours ago
  • RT @wkamaubell: Because @AnnCoulter has NO INTEREST in actually speaking at Berkeley. She wants to be banned. Trying to look like the cool… 6 hours ago
  • RT @AnthonyNMorgan: "The function, the very serious function of racism, is distraction. It keeps you from doing your work" - Toni Morrison… 1 day ago
  • RT @brianklaas: -Fastest NSA resignation (Flynn) -Fastest FBI investigation -Most unpopular in history -Most ethical conflicts -Most golf i… 1 day ago
  • RT @kylegriffin1: Trump gives a shout out to Pavarotti, calls him "a good friend of mine". Pavarotti died 10 years ago in 2007. —via @MSNB1 day ago

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 836 other followers

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

