04
Apr
09

Warning Signs by Miz Pink

The Bible does tell us judge not lest you be judged but it also tells us be wise as serpents and harmless as doves. I’m not a big one for judging people on appearances but I think we can’t disregard such things either, and I don’t think it’s un-Christian to put up your defenses and be aware and concerned sometimes because people look or act a certain way.

pink-hair-punketteMost animals in nature that might be considered a tasty morsel by a bigger badder animal with sharp teeth go for camouflage or safety in numbers. But some of ’em have genetically and evolutionarily opted for the “bright and clear” look. They have strong, gaudy colors that say, “See me? Dig deep into your genetic memories and recall that one of your ancestors ate me and died! I’m poisonous! Stay away!”

So, sometimes we are given warning signs.

I remember a guy at a job I had that always popped up and inserted himself into any and every conversation he could around the cubicles. He was way too much into “too much information” mode when it came to his sexual activities with the wife. He had a habit of not being very neat with the grooming of his beard. And he was as once described a character in Sienfeld, a “close talker.”

So, I veered away from him whenever possible. I wasn’t very surprised when sexual harrassment claims started to crop up around him.

In the same way, look at the picture I’ve included with this post. She might be a very nice young lady. But I wouldn’t want my son to date her when he’s of age to do so. She doesn’t radiate the vibe of stability, emotional depth and reliability that I’d want in a gal my boy might one day marry. I mean, I don’t think you can have that many pointy things coming out of you and that many dark, sinister tattoos unless you probably want to give the message that “I’m hard to handle and I draw blood and I intend to stay that way.”

So we must not turn aside or turn away from or run away from people JUST because they look a certain way or act a certain way. Because as Christians we must be willing to reach out to anyone who might need the message of the Lord. But at the same time we cannot be so trusting that we reach out right away without being aware of possible dangers whether they are social, emotional or actually physical. We cannot be so naive as to think that God will automatically protect us from all harm because he expects us I think to use our heads as well. He didn’t give us these big brains just to fill up space in our skull.

9 Responses to “Warning Signs by Miz Pink”


  1. April 4, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    It can be interesting to compare images of different people and see which ones trigger us. I took a class once that juxtaposed images of people from a wide range, and we were supposed to monitor our emotional responses to the different people. I thought the folks with their arms covered in tats and 2″ plugs in their ears were fine. Blacks, hispanics, and asians looked interesting. It was the slightly overweight white men in suits and crew cuts, who looked like good Republicans, who freaked me out. So go figure.

    Having said that, the woman in the image doesn’t look like one I’d choose for a friend right off. Maybe when Halloween’s over…

    We all judge based our experiences, and, having borne the brunt of some of that, I can witness that Jesus had it right. I’ve got a lot of motivation to get beyond my own judgment and follow Jesus’s advice, and still the instant, gut feeling that arrives at first impression exposes my prejudices. Just keep those clean-cut Republican types away from me…

  2. April 5, 2009 at 3:47 am

    What was she thinking?! I believe that she fits in somewhere, and that’s just the point. I don’t see her courting or even marrying a clean-cut, wholesome type, but then you never know.

    Opposites sometimes attract.

  3. April 7, 2009 at 12:46 am

    i’m fairly liberal about what people do, i’ve seen EVERYTHING [piercings, full body tattoos, scarification, major body alterations]

    BUT

    when my brother used to show up at my hose with his nose rings in [big ring through his septum] i freaked. it looked like the ring an ox would have.

    me: we were slaves in egypt. we are NOT slaves now. you are not wearing that thing in my house.
    david: my other piercings don’t bother you.
    me: that gets a visceral response.

    but i wouldn’t be thrilled if my kid wanted to date a firl with feathers on her breasts either.

    i do like the pink hair…

  4. 4 Deacon Blue
    April 7, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Miz Pink would second you on the pink hair, I’m sure, since she has a streak of her own. Or did last I heard/saw.

    I’m not particularly freaked out by most body adornments, though I have to say I think that the ring through the septum thing looks pretty stupid on 90% of people, and I think only 50% of people can pull off the eyebrow ring without looking really, really goofy.

    I think the big thing is the overal vibe, when it comes to the really visible things like piercings and intentional scars and such. I mean, I’ve seen people with say a tongue piercing and maybe one of those really freaky big earrings INSIDE the earlobe, and yet they dress relatively normal and act like most anyone else. The people who put me on alert are the ones who seem to be using their decorations as a kind of costume or armor…almost like they are trying to adopt this totally misanthropic/anti-society demeanor.

    And that scares me almost as much as a big-time right-winger with a crewcut…and those guys scare me a LOT. 😉

  5. 5 Mjaya
    October 27, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    I find it interesting that everyone makes up an opinion about what this girl is like based on her picture. I’ve seen this picture before, and I think she’s quite beautiful. (And I am a heterosexual girl, too.) Has anyone considered that this might be for an artistic photography shoot? (Hence her intimidating facial expression) Has anyone even talked to this girl? My hair has been many different colors in the past, ranging from blue to pink to orange. People only have a problem with it until they actually talk to me. Everyone has their own style. If Abercrombie and Fitch is acceptable, then I don’t see why piercings and blue lipstick isn’t. In some way, I hope your son does date a girl like this. You may be surprised at what she can open your eyes up to.

    P.S. Speaking of clean-cut wholesome types, ever heard of Ted Bundy?

  6. 6 Deacon Blue
    October 28, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Mjaya,

    It’s mostly in fun, and she is attractive in many ways…and I think all (or at least most) of us realize that is a fashion/model shot.

    But, that being said, there is SOME value to making some initial evaluations based on appearance. And if some actually wear ALL of that, and combine ALL of those things on a regular basis for their daily dealings, that would suggest certain personality traits and lifestyle choices. And I dare say that a looser approach to sexual behaviors, a harder-edge attitude and drug use would be more likely. Sure, plenty of clean-cut people do such things, too, but those who advertise it on their sleeve are…well…telling you up front.

    A clean-cut guy wearing a shirt saying “one man, one woman” is telling you that he is against the idea of homosexual activity, much less marriage. And so, if you, for example, a gay couple, you can probably rule this guy off your list of potential friends….and you may want to avoid contact with him entirely.

    Catch my drift?

    The gal in the picture isn’t necessarily “bad” but chances are far higher than with a bespectacled geek girl that she engages in activities that Miz Pink, for example, would not want her son engaging in…and for good reason.

  7. 7 That_Girl_In_The_Picture
    June 22, 2010 at 10:38 am

    I always knew Christians were shallow hypocrites. They repeat mindlessly the commandments of their dear Bible like “thou shall not judge” yet go against it and judge. It seems the only thing they uphold in the Bible is to discriminate against us gay people. Christians lie and say “we don’t hate you we hate the sin” sure, keep telling yourself that.

    I’m sick of Christian’s “holier than thou” attitude. They feel PRIDEFUL (a sin) and superior to people who they deem as “sinners”.

  8. 8 Deacon Blue
    June 22, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    You know, by all means, come on in here and rant in a totally inapplicable way.

    Miz Pink pointed out that while we cannot judge people on their appearances, sometimes surface appearances provide warning signs. Things to make us aware that certain behaviors might be expected.

    This is HUMAN nature. Recognizing cues and being aware doesn’t make a person judgmental.

    And for the record, despite your little soapbox diatribe, I’m trying to figure out why you thought it was appropriate to slam either Miz Pink (or me, by extension, since this is my blog), but bringing up the gay issue? Where did we slam anyone in the LGBT community?

    In fact, both Miz Pink and I have supported gay marriage in previous posts. In fact, my own “gay” comment here was actually not negative to gays at all but an example of how a guy wearing a certain T-shirt may advertise himself as an opponent of the gay lifestyle, and therefore be a person that a gay couple might want to avoid or be wary of.

    Next time, try reading the post and getting the context before you start mouthing off.

  9. 9 Building My Web
    February 27, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    I found this blog because I liked the image of the girl with pink hair. I’m trying to find reason to dislike your logic but – and I can’t believe I am saying this – I think you’re right. Looking forward to reading more from you.


Comments are currently closed.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Deac Tweets

  • @Frowzytwo I'm reminded of that especially as I overhear some of the radio programming when she's in a car 1 day ago
  • My daughter's discovered "Grand Theft Auto: Vice City" and is completely taken w/ game. My tween has gone "old school" (b4 her time anyway) 1 day ago
  • RT @JoyAnnReid: None of those things has a basis in factual reality, but it's a strong belief among many on the right (and again not just t… 1 day ago
  • RT @JoyAnnReid: It's based on a broad belief that undocumented migrants are a) criminals b) welfare queens or c) stealing jobs from working… 1 day ago
  • RT @JoyAnnReid: Hatred of undocumented immigrants and a desire to get rid of them is a common feature of Trumpism (and not just lower incom… 1 day ago

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 836 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

