09
Sep
09

Pulling Off the Helmet

drfate-small-negativeOK, it looks like there will be some changes around here, and mulling over them, as well as getting ready to make them, will probably mean an extra day or two before I get to regular posting (i.e. more installments of the novel and making occasional spiritual/political observations).

Why? Because it looks like I’m about to “unmask” myself, and I have to consider the ways in which this blog will change (probably minor ones overall) and how I will use it in my life (which might be the bigger change).

For a long time, I have zealously guarded my anonymity here, and let only a handful of people outside immediate family and longtime friends know anything about who Deacon Blue really is.

I have done so in part because being new to blogging when I started this thing, I wasn’t certain if it was “safe” to let this information be known. I wasn’t sure if my subject matter and approach to it might attract violent people to threaten me. Sure, that might seem as melodramatic to you as it does to me now in hindsight, but I didn’t recall seeing any other foul-mouthed, opinionated deacons blogging, so I wasn’t sure, and my family’s safety comes first.

Also, as freelance writer and editor, I’ve been worried that my opinions here might turn people off from giving me work. Would my religious beliefs be a turn-off? Would people look at my attitudes and opinions here and decide I couldn’t be a proper “impartial” journalist? But it has also become clear that the economy has been my biggest enemy in terms of me losing clients and failing to replace them. That, and the whole nature of the new media. In short, the world has changed thanks to social media, the Internet, blogs and everything else digital out there that we now rely on. I can’t worry that this blog might lose me business; I have to find ways that it can help me become more marketable and employable.

I have to adapt, or I have to find a new career. So I am going the embrace the new media and try to figure out how to make it work better for me. That means making better use of Facebook and LinkedIn. That means joining Twitter, which is something I swore I’d never do. That means finding ways both to promote myself online and to find work through various online media.

That also means it’s time for me to be more complete and honest about who I am. It’s something I already have begun to realize, and a recent post by Chez over at Deus Ex Malcontent, along with long talks with my wife about my future, have pretty much pushed me over the edge on this.

I can keep hovering way back from the edge of the cliff, or I can get close enough to catch a nice view. And, if I’m daring enough and smart enough, maybe I can make some impressive dives into the water below and make a name for myself.

Who the hell knows?

In any case, you’ll be finding out who I am very soon. Not that my name or face will be anything special unless you happened to go to school with me, worked with me or are related to me. I will still be “Deacon Blue” here, but at the same time, my birth name, my background, and my life will be a more open book, and easily accessible from the sidebar sometime within the next day or two.

So, you’ve been wondering what I look like and who I am? Well, it won’t happen right away, because the helmet’s been on a while, but let me work at the catches on this helmet a bit…

13 Responses to “Pulling Off the Helmet”


  1. September 10, 2009 at 10:50 am

    well… this should be interesting…

  2. September 10, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Now I’m wondering if you’re really white.

  3. 3 Deacon Blue
    September 10, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    LOL, Chris…you’ll discover I’m about as white as they come. Physically at least.

    My real photo should be up sometime tonight or early tomorrow, along with the beginnings of some other tweaks to the blog…

  4. September 10, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Geez, if youre about to show the real you, I guess I will have to come clean. Im actually Black. 😉

  5. September 10, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    i feel so ordinary. i’ve ALWAYS had for-real, current photos of myself on my blog. let me warn you, deke and mrs blue: be prepared for “OMG, you’re SO cute!”

    would you like a mayonaise and wonder bread sandwich?

  6. 6 Inda Pink
    September 10, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Before anyone even THINKS to ask…

    No I am categoricaly absolutely resolutely so never gonna reveal MY name.

    Also unlike Deke I can tell ya I’ll be sticking to my guns on never tweeting.

  7. September 11, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    I had you pegged as a brunette. With hair.

  8. 8 Deacon Blue
    September 11, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Used to have hair. Hell, when my wife met me, had a ponytail. The deadly combo of receding hairline AND bald spot at the crown of my cranium pretty much necessitated become a baldie.

  9. 9 societyvs
    September 11, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    You have nothing to lose by being you – screw anonymity – whats so goood about saying so much yet having no ‘face’? Wait…God did that. My bad.

  10. September 11, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    whats so goood about saying so much yet having no ‘face’? Wait…God did that. My bad.(Societyvs)

    Now that was funny. 😉

  11. 11 Deacon Blue
    September 11, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Indeed, a good line, SocietyVs.

    Of course, unlike God, I can’t speak from a burning bush.

    At least not without needing medical attention afterwards.

  12. 12 societyvs
    September 15, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    “Of course, unlike God, I can’t speak from a burning bush. At least not without needing medical attention afterwards.” (Deacon)

    I know I am just yanking you leg a bit – joking around for the sake of it.

  13. 13 Deacon Blue
    September 15, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    LOL, man…that’s why I joked back at ya with the burning bush comment.


Comments are currently closed.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Deac Tweets

  • RT @Patrixmyth: On further thought, who am I tell anyone about their right to an opinion? Have your opinion. *I reserve right to judge you… 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: Furthermore, what is this natural inclination tell POC about their reality? Grrrrrrr! 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: IMO it's the part of white supremacy where white folks are conditioned to not fully see POC as their equals. So you to… 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: I am in my mid 40's, I have never had a random Black or Brown person reach out and touch me, Truth, it's always, I mea… 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: Today, I get a comment asking if a Black person had done this, would I have the same response. Um...Black people don't… 1 day ago

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 836 other followers

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

