25
Sep
09

TMI. No, really, TMI! by Miz Pink

Too much information is what TMI is, for those of you not in the know about such thingies. MacKenzie Phillips, co-star of the “One Day at a Time” sitcom from the 70s or 80s (I forget and I’m too lazy to look it up) is spending a lot of time hawking her book and talking about her incestuous relationship (supposedly) with her daddy. Mind you apparently the first time was a rape she says but the other times were consensual but she did it because of all the drugs she was taking.

I understand that parents do some sick things. I understand that many of my fellow women get raped. I don’t understand how you come out talking about how you willingly had sex with your daddy as an adult particularly when said daddy is dead and unable to defend himself. Airing dirty laundry and making yourself a freaky public spectacle in what seems to be an attempt to drum up people to buy your book.

What, VH-1 and MTV finally got tired of reality shows for washed up celebs and you couldn’t get yourself a gig there MacKenzie.

TMI baby. We don’t want to know that many sordid details of your life. If you were doing work helping survivors of incest or something instead of hawking yourself for money I might understand more.

TMI.

And what’s more let me pull out another internet abbreviation. STFU.

12 Responses to “TMI. No, really, TMI! by Miz Pink”


  1. 1 blackgirlinmaine
    September 25, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Maybe this is therapeutic and was recommended by her therapists. I admit its not something I would disclose in such a manner but maybe its what she needs to do to recover.

  2. September 26, 2009 at 5:36 am

    How young was Mackenzie when she started out? Too many child actors are miserable adults. There are several now I worry about. Dakota Fanning is one.

  3. 3 Deacon Blue
    September 26, 2009 at 8:47 am

    If she has a therapist giving her that kind of advice, BGIM, she needs a new therapist. 😉

    Black Diaspora…Seems she started her career at 12 in the film American Graffiti and was 14 when it came out. I’m not sure how old she was when in One Day at a Time but she played a teenager in that series. Also started her cocaine habit then, apparently.

    Clearly drugs mess a person up. No doubt. And waking up after a drug blackout to find you’re having sex with your father (if it’s true) doesn’t say much good about your judgment or your father’s, even under the influence. What is truly sickening thought is that she was an adult when this “mishap” (whether rape or bad judgment, we’ll never really know) occurred (19 years old) and the incest continued with her willing participation for 10 years, and she was married during at least some of those years (since the first incest encounter was right before her wedding).

    This is just sick stuff, and not therapeutic or cautionary for anyone hearing it. It’s just prurient and it’s attention getting. But I don’t see how throwing this all out there helps MacKenzie or anyone reading her book or listening to her. It’s simply some celebrity-oriented version of a very extreme Jerry Springer episode to me.

  4. September 26, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Judge not lest ye be judged…………..Oops I forgot, Im not Christian.

  5. 5 Deacon Blue
    September 26, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I didn’t say she was an awful person, now did I? Didn’t call her some foul sinner, slattern or anything else. Nor did Miz Pink that I recall. I said it was sick stuff (and the actions ARE sick, let’s admit it…what culture has ever greenlighted parent-child incest?) and honestly and accurately noted that she trying to cash in on a very prurient story in a culture that thrives on following other people’s questionable behavior. She’s sharing a level of detail about her life in a manner that is so far from therapeutic or helpful that selling books seems the only logical motive for it.

  6. September 27, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Airing dirty laundry and making yourself a FREAKY public spectacle in what seems to be an attempt to drum up people to buy your book.(Miz Pink)

    If you were doing work helping survivors of incest or something instead of HAWKING yourself for money I might understand more.(Miz Pink)

    So sorry, I didnt see it the first time, but these statements are actually really loving and non judgemental. Come on, face it, you Christians think and act just like the rest of us.

  7. 7 Deacon Blue
    September 27, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Tit for Tat,

    I never said I thought any different from any other human.

    But there is a difference between pointing out problematic actions/behaviors and JUDGING somebody.

    Evidence points to her trying to drum up sales of her book. This doesn’t make her evil. It makes sense to make money. But the fact is that it’s still prurient info, implicating a dead person who cannot defend himself, and it involves an activity that is rejected by almost all people in almost every culture in history.

    Tell me what is objectively incorrect about any of that?

    Do you think that being Christian and not judging others means I have to shut up when people do weird shit? Give me a break.

    Not judging others primarily means that I am not to assume that I know who is on the wrong side of GOD. And I don’t. Because I don’t know a person’s heart or motivations well enough.

    But I can point out behavior that is unsavory. And I can call people on bullshit.

    Lord knows Jesus (prior to his ascension)…and his apostles…called people on their bullshit too.

    And do you think being loving of MacKenzie Phillips’ behavior and situation is to say, “Well, thanks for sharing!” ?????? She was an adult, choosing to have sex with her father…and now claiming that well, the FIRST time he took advantage of me but after that I choose to have sex with him…but still, somehow it was like Stockholm Syndrome, even though I was a grown woman with my own life and not in any way under his thumb.

    I hope she gets her shit together, Tit for Tat, and that’s where my love is. My love should not be in the corner of, “Capitalize on your freaky behavior and air all your dirty laundry and get rich off it because people like to hear sick stuff.” My love is in hoping she finds something more productive to do…

    Perhaps, like Miz Pink suggests, actually doing something for women or girls who are victims of incest and REALLY didn’t have any way out of it…and didn’t choose to participate in it.

    That should be clear enough. You’re trying to bait me by misrepresenting a scriptural passage. And suggesting that I’ve ever said I was somehow better than a non-Christian or think any different than one in most way…which I NEVER have claimed.

    Really, you have to stop trying to paint me as a hypocrite when I’m not even in the ballpark of acting like one.

  8. 8 societyvs
    September 28, 2009 at 10:54 am

    “which I NEVER have claimed…” (Deacon)

    But I have claimed that and I stick to to it! People act is af every atheist they ever met is cordial…has a nice set of neat moral standards (some paradigm they never waver from) and the moral gumption to stick to them. I am sorry, thats just not the case in reality.

    Many athiests I know (personally) are dedictaed to lives of crime, gangs, etc. I bet if we had the chance to ask Mckenzie Phillips dad if we was a dedicated Christian (or her for that matter) during any and all of this crap she endured…anyone care to guess the answer? So yeah, I am a notch above a whole lot of that crap – ethically speaking – with some foundational ethic to bounce my personal choices off of. (Does that make me better than anyone? No…just using the God given ability to make a ‘choice’ – a well thought out one)

    As for this situation – why blame Mckenzie for using the media? If we going to beef with anyone – let it be the sensational media that lives off this stuff. The Entertainment 2night’s of the world and those other crap mags people buy about the ‘stars lives’. I am sorry – it’s just bunch of gossip meant to fill unmeaningful lives of convenience. I don’t blame Mckenzie for coming out on Oprah and wherever else she was with this story – the media ‘loved’ it. I just didn’t watch – because even though it caught my attention (I am a fan of the Mama’s and Papa’s) – I got better things to watch – like documentaries and stuff effecting this planet. That story is a ‘blip’ – and about the past…not much can be done for what happened to this poor girl. Media wins the day again.

  9. 9 Deacon Blue
    September 28, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Might be a matter of semantic, SocietyVs.

    I do believe that being born again has altered the way I deal with life, but the fact is that I still have many of the same thought processes I did prior to my faith walk. It’s just filtered through a different lens now and I act on my thoughts (or not) in different ways.

    So, while I think my path puts me in a better position than most people spiritually, I don’t believe that my reactions in life, on a surface level at least, are all that different from an atheist’s.

    And I do agree that the media outlets and the people watching TV and buying books wield their fair share of blame in this story. I just think MacKenzie is giving us way more detail than any of us need to know. And I think it’s sad that she’s doing that. Because it all starts with her, no matter how much everyone else feeds off the aftermath.

  10. September 28, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    “Judge not…” and “God is love…” must come in the atheist handbook.

  11. 11 Deacon Blue
    September 28, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    LOL, Big Man. I does indeed often seem that it’s the most narrow-minded Christians and the most dogged atheists who are most likely to whip out biblical soundbites out of context.

  12. 12 societyvs
    September 28, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    ““Judge not…” and “God is love…” must come in the atheist handbook” (Big Man)

    Most of the educated atheists I know are de-converts (on-line anyways) that know those ideals in more intricate manner than even they might wanna admit – having been in church groups that had those ideas at their core. I think most atheists want to believe they are self-made (and some are)…but I notice I have more in common with many de-converts than I do with people who nothing about the bible or church life in general. They might not like to admit some of that teaching they got from the church meant something at some time (and may still)…but I am coming think this is exactly the case.


Comments are currently closed.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Deac Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 836 other followers

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

