30
Sep
09

Having It Both Ways by Miz Pink

pink-popcicle-2Just a little rant today.

So I was doing some online discussion at a board and having around in an off topic/anything goes part of the place and responding in a religion thread. I mentioned I had some liberal view. Okay a lot of them. And that I was Christian too.

So I get a response that with beliefs like that I’m obviously a Christian who doesn’t follow Jesus. And some comment about when he said he would spit out those who were lukewarm, he wasn’t talking about fellatio.

Now I don’t think it was crazy to think I was dealing with someone who was Christian and took exception to my political views so I noted how liberal and progressive many of Jesus’s views and actions were at least on a social level.

Then I get the surprise response that I’m just one of those judgmental sheep who believe in oral stories passed down from sheep herders.

This comment was from the same dang person!!!!

After a while I realize I’m dealing with an atheist who wants to have it both ways by saying I’m not Christian enough to be taken seriously and too Christian to be looked at as anything but a mindless plodding obedient drone.

So do I have a mind that I am using to pick and choose my beliefs and be reasonable or am I an idiot who simply does what the Bible tells me to do mindlessly. Apparently according to this guy I’m somehow both.

He also informed me that according to the bible I’m going to hell because I don’t follow everything perfectly even though he doesn’t believe there is a hell.

It’s all just too wonderfuly surreal and amusing for me to even get mad.

9 Responses to “Having It Both Ways by Miz Pink”


  1. September 30, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    i’d advise you to ask him if he keeps kosher and mixes wool and linen, stones people to death for disobeying their parents, thinks adulterers should be crushed, etc and if he follows ALL the laws listed in leviticus. cause if he doesn’t, he’s picking and chosing too.

    jerkwad.

  2. 2 Deacon Blue
    September 30, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Well, of COURSE you’re going to Hell, Pink…for posting that racy photo of a naked woman with your post (hey, we know she’s got something bared, even if we can’t see it) that suggests oral pleasuring.

    And a hypocritical atheist with a chip on his shoulder could confirm that for you. Just go back to the board and ask him.

    @ robyn:

    LOL. I think I’d like to pass on stoning people who mix wools and linen, but could we possibly institute some kind of violent death penalty for anyone who tries to bring back 70s-style leisure suits and/or most of the “fashions” from the mid-80s…

  3. October 1, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    It’s all just too wonderfuly surreal and amusing for me to even get mad.(Deacon)

    Funny thing, I get this same feeling when trying to get a “Christian” to show me what constitutes being a christian and what doesnt.

    I guess I need the holy spirit to help me out, burp. 😉

  4. October 1, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Oops that was meant for Pink not Deac…. 🙂

  5. 5 Deacon Blue
    October 1, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    I don’t mind answering.

    A Christian is someone who accepts Jesus as the son of God and as his/her messiah, lord, savior, redeemer and brother in the family of God.

    No, if you want to go back to quibbling about specific interpretations of the Bible among Christians, I’m not interested, since I’ve already made it clear that ANY group with any rules, doctrines, policies, traditions, etc. will have internal differences in interpretation.

    But what I gave above is simple and direct.
    😉

  6. October 2, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Deac
    I was going to do that, but I’m trying to turn over a new leaf.

  7. 7 societyvs
    October 2, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I have ran into some of that with atheists – they play both sides of the argument – possibly to relate to your side and show the inconsistencies but also to speak what they really do believe…and sometimes that just comes off as ‘dirty’. Maybe it is – I wasnt in that post.

    What constitutes a Christian huh…well the belief would have to be Jesus was the ‘Christ’ (messiah) and then living by those taught ideals he preached upon. No one is asking for perfection in that – just that we admit when we are wrong and be humble…and live in a good way – a righteous/just way before others. Beyond that I am not sure what else is asked of Christians?

    I make room for atheists in that definition mind you – if they have valid reasons to not believe in God – and I have heard some pretty good reasons not to follow this Christian God (as He is used in many circles).

  8. October 6, 2009 at 11:47 am

    DEKE! you’re just saying that cause you can’t fit into that lavender crushed velvet pimp suit with the 24″ bells and the 6″ lapels anymore!

  9. 9 Deacon Blue
    October 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Can’t say I ever had the pleasure of owning one. As I recall, the whole disco-themed thing was beginning it’s death throes around 1978…and I was 10 years old then. I had a few bell-bottomed jeans or cords, I think, and probably a couple velour short sleeve polo-style shirts. But I was spared the leisure suits.


Comments are currently closed.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Deac Tweets

  • RT @Patrixmyth: On further thought, who am I tell anyone about their right to an opinion? Have your opinion. *I reserve right to judge you… 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: Furthermore, what is this natural inclination tell POC about their reality? Grrrrrrr! 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: IMO it's the part of white supremacy where white folks are conditioned to not fully see POC as their equals. So you to… 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: I am in my mid 40's, I have never had a random Black or Brown person reach out and touch me, Truth, it's always, I mea… 1 day ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: Today, I get a comment asking if a Black person had done this, would I have the same response. Um...Black people don't… 1 day ago

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 836 other followers

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

