07
Jun
10

Bought and Paid For Every One by Miz Pink

You know someone told me something about maybe President Obama not being as hardcore with BP over this oil spill as he could be because apparently oil companies (and BP in particular) have generated heavily in his past campaigns.

Know what?

I don’t care.

I mean I care about the oil spill and I want some action on that.

But whether or not our prez has some kind of connection to oil I don’t care about.

Oh I’m sure some GOP person will want to latch onto it and use it for some threatened impeachment hearing or something. After all, lots of them already seem to think that our current president using the same legislative tactics as their boy did for 8 years is somehow an impeachable offense. Oh and our current president has to make some magic special birth certificate that doesn’t exist in the real world because the one he has from Hawaii apparentnly ain’t good enough.

You see…I don’t care if President Obama has connections to big oil because every president has owed something to multiple businesses or industries. It’s the horrible thing about our system really and it fails to move me to ire about the individual presidents.

Is this some kind of blindness b/c I like Barack? yeah and no. Thing is I hated that Bush and Cheney started a way in Iraq in part to line the pockets of Halliburton which Cheney was a deep part of in terms of business connections. We didn’t impeach either of them. In fact most people didn’t even spend much time worrying about it.

Oh I’m sure plenty of folks will worry about this even though this time it was an accident instead of a an unnecessary act of war for preening and profit.

Now if President Obama lets BP off the hook and says “You don’t have to fix any of this mess” or “We’ll waive your financial responsibilities” or something like that, then we’re talking something for outrage.

But saying he’s too soft on BP right now? At least he’s riding them. I don’t recall Bush & Cheney riding Halliburton to do some work for free or something in the war that helped sink our economy.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Deac Tweets

  • RT @Patrixmyth: On further thought, who am I tell anyone about their right to an opinion? Have your opinion. *I reserve right to judge you… 15 hours ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: Furthermore, what is this natural inclination tell POC about their reality? Grrrrrrr! 19 hours ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: IMO it's the part of white supremacy where white folks are conditioned to not fully see POC as their equals. So you to… 19 hours ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: I am in my mid 40's, I have never had a random Black or Brown person reach out and touch me, Truth, it's always, I mea… 19 hours ago
  • RT @blackgirlinmain: Today, I get a comment asking if a Black person had done this, would I have the same response. Um...Black people don't… 19 hours ago

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 836 other followers

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

