05
Aug
08

Two-fer Tuesday: Love by Miz Pink

I asked Deke to make sure to put my post today on our Twofer Tuesday topic second right under his because I just want to say: Geez youre long-winded! Talkin our ears off…or our eyes out or something. Simple topic like love and you go get all wordy and stuff like you always do. Two-fer Tuesday means two posts, man! People don’t have time for this. Keep it short on Tuesday. Yeesh!

Oh I’d better clam up I guess and get to writing before I make myself a hypocrite 😮

 

Look, when it comes to love, you can read the Bible cover to cover and you will (if you’re really in prayer about it and really trying to understand I believe) see that God really is about love first and foremost. The whole Bible, even with the icky bits, is a love story of God trying to save these humans he made to be his children…who went all astray and are killing themselves physically emotionally and spiritually when they do it.

But if that’s too much for you to digest. If thats too much for you to see in between all the clutter. If that’s not clear enough…

Listen to Jesus:

Thou shalt love the Lord they God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.” Matthew 22:37-40

I’m not saying we mere humans are capable of avoiding anger and even hating at times. We all have our bad moments. But I don’t understand how anyone can call himself or herself a Christians and feel hate toward any group. Toward individuals, I understand. We should show love even to those who persecute us and even toward some heinous child molesting murderer, but I understand how hard that can be at time. But I really don’t understand hate toward groups.

Why hate Muslims for what a minority of them do? Why hate Jews for “killing” Christ when Jesus himself was a Jew and his whole mission on earth was to die for us? Why hate another race or ethnic group (or more than one) just because your life sucks? Why hate the youth for acting young and why hate old folks for being a little crusty?

Jesus told us that all of the commadments rest on these two great commandments he gave us. Love. Love, dammit!

I can’t use Jesus to convince a non-Christian to love. But I can and will use him to tell any Christian out there that if you have serious hate for any group of people, maybe you aren’t a Christian and maybe you should be getting prepared for a possible eternity in hell. Groups are just that, groups. They contain many individuals. To hate the group and hate all people in a group because of what you think are the beliefs they all hold is wrong.

It’s against Jesus, it’s against God and it shows a serious lack of the Holy Spirit in you.

(For Deke’s post today on Love cliick here)


1 Response to “Two-fer Tuesday: Love by Miz Pink”



Comments are currently closed.

Deacon Blue is the blogging persona of editor and writer Jeffrey Bouley. The opinions of Jeff himself on this blog, and those expressed as Deacon Blue, in NO WAY should be construed as the opinions of anyone with whom he has worked, currently works, or will work with in the future. They are personal opinions and views, and are sometimes, frankly, expressed in more outrageous terms than I truly feel most days.

Jeff Bouley

_________

Jeff Bouley

To find out more about me professionally, click here. To find out more about me generally, click here.

_________

E-Mail

You can reach Deacon Blue/Jeff Bouley at deaconbluemail@gmail.com.

_________

LinkedIn

For my public profile, click here.

_________

Tales of the Whethermen

My superhero fiction blog, click here

_________

Raising the Goddess

My parenting blog, click here

Copyright Info and Images

For more about images used on this site, and copyrights regarding them, as well as usage/copyright information about my own writing as posted here, click here.

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 833 other subscribers